Friday, October 2, 2009

The Republic of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of Africa, with a 2,798 kilometres (1,739 mi) coastline[6][7] on the Atlantic and Indian Oceans.[8] To the north lie NamibiaBotswana and Zimbabwe, to the east are Mozambique and Swaziland, while Lesotho is an independent country surrounded by South Africa.[9] 
Some quick facts about South Africa: 
  • Capital: Pretoria (Joburg is the largest city)
  • Official languages: 11, including Afrikaans, English, Xhosa
  • Population: ~50 million
  • Distance: Washington, DC - Port Elizabeth = ~8250 miles, bearing SE
  • Time difference: UTC+2 (or +6 hrs ahead of Washington DC)
  • South Africa is about twice the size of Texas, and ranks 32d in the world for area.

No comments: